Getting paid across a border costs somewhere between 0.58 percent and roughly 9 percent of the invoice, for the identical $2,000, depending only on which rail the money travels down. Over a year at $60,000 billed, that spread is about $5,000 — real money, decided by a choice most freelancers make once and never revisit.
At FreelanceAtlas, we help freelancers run the business side of the work. This guide is the cross-border deep dive: the actual arithmetic per rail on a $2,000 invoice, the hidden cost nobody quantifies, the US tax position that most articles get backwards, and which rail fits which corridor. For the general overview, start with How to Get Paid as a Freelancer.
Fees verified 14 September 2026 on each provider’s own published pricing page. They change often. Re-check before acting on any number here.
The $2,000 Invoice, Rail by Rail
Scenario: a US client owes you $2,000, you are outside the US, and you want local currency in a local bank account.
Wise — around $11.54, or 0.58%
` Received into Wise USD details by free US ACH $2,000.00 fee $0.00 Convert USD to INR at 0.577% −$11.54 Payout to local bank $0.00 ───────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────── Total cost $11.54 = 0.58% `
Wise publishes conversion “from 0.23%” and charges nothing to receive domestic payments in AUD, CAD, EUR, GBP, HUF, NZD, PHP, SGD and USD. If your client insists on sending a SWIFT wire rather than a free domestic transfer, add $6.11 for incoming USD, taking it to 0.88%.
One cost to know about: Wise Business charges a one-time 50 GBP setup fee for account details in 22 currencies on its UK pricing page. The US personal pricing page shows no such fee, so it is product- and region-dependent.
Payoneer — roughly 2.2% to 5%
Payoneer’s published pricing, last updated 1 January 2026:
| Action | Fee |
|---|---|
| Receive into a receiving account in your local currency | Free |
| Receive into a receiving account in a non-local currency | 1% (minimum $1) |
| Receive from a payer using ACH bank debit (US only) | 1% |
| Receive from a payer using an EU or UK bank account | 1% |
| Receive from a payer using a credit card | Up to 3.99% + $0.49 |
| Withdraw to a local bank, same country, local currency | $1.50 flat (supported countries) |
| Withdraw involving a different currency or conversion | 1.2% – 4% (minimum up to $20 in some countries) |
| Move funds between your own Payoneer balances | 0.50% |
| Annual account fee | $29.95, only if you receive under $6,000 in any 12 consecutive months |
So on $2,000 received by bank transfer and withdrawn with conversion: $20.00 in, then 1.2%–4% out, giving roughly $44 to $99 total, or 2.2% to 5%. If the client pays by card instead, the front-end alone is $80.29.
Note the honest detail in Payoneer’s own note: “Fees depend on sender and recipient locations, payment method, and currencies.” There is no single universal Payoneer fee table, and articles presenting one are wrong. Your exact fee is shown in-account before you confirm.
PayPal — roughly $176, or 8.8%
` International commercial transaction 3.49% + 1.50% = 4.99% 4.99% of $2,000 −$99.80 Fixed fee −$0.49 Balance $1,899.71 Currency conversion at 4.00% −$75.99 ───────────────────────────────────────────────────────────── Total cost $176.28 = 8.81% `
That is fifteen times the Wise cost on the same invoice.
An important caveat competitors universally miss: the schedule above is PayPal’s US page, governing a US account holder receiving money. If you are in India, Nigeria or the Philippines, your own country’s PayPal fee page governs, and it is a different document with different numbers. Check paypal.com/[your country]/webapps/mpp/merchant-fees rather than assuming.
Worth saying in PayPal’s defence: it charges roughly 4% for conversion and it publishes that. A receiving bank often charges more and does not.
Stripe — 4.5% to 5.5%, and it points the other way
Stripe is the answer for a US freelancer billing overseas clients, not for receiving into a non-US account.
` $2,000 charged to a non-US card 2.9% + 1.5% international = 4.4% −$88.00 Fixed −$0.30 Stripe Invoicing 0.4%, capped at $2 −$2.00 ───────────────────────────────────────────────────────────── Total $90.30 = 4.52% `
Add 1% (−$20) where currency conversion is required, taking it to 5.52%. Stripe requires a registered business in a supported country, so for most inbound corridors it is not available.
Deel — $0, plus an undisclosed FX margin
If your client is already on Deel, the platform fee is theirs ($49 per contractor per month). Your withdrawal costs depend entirely on the method you pick inside Deel:
| Withdrawal method | Deel’s fee |
|---|---|
| Local bank transfer | Free |
| Wise | No Deel fee |
| Revolut | Free |
| Payoneer | 1% |
| PayPal | 2.5% (min $0.25) |
| Coinbase | 1.5% |
The lesson is that the withdrawal method you choose inside Deel matters more than Deel itself. Taking the PayPal option costs $50 on a $2,000 payment that would otherwise be free.
One open question we could not close: Deel does not disclose its FX margin on local-bank payouts. Do not assume it is zero.
SWIFT bank wire — genuinely not knowable in advance
This is the finding, not a cop-out. A wire passes through one to three intermediary banks, each able to deduct a fee, and the CFPB states plainly that while providers must disclose that such deductions exist, federal law does not require them to disclose the specific amounts beforehand.
Charge codes govern who pays: OUR (sender pays everything), SHA (shared) and BEN (beneficiary pays). Under SHA and BEN, intermediaries deduct from your money in transit. Swift’s own materials describe correspondent banking as producing “unexpected fees, delays and deductions.”
For scale, the World Bank’s Remittance Prices Worldwide put the global average cost of sending a remittance at 6.36%, with banks at 14.99% against 4.59% for digital providers. Treat that as directional only — it is corridor remittance data at $200, and percentage costs fall as amounts rise, so it does not predict your $2,000 invoice.
Summary
| Rail | Cost on $2,000 | % |
|---|---|---|
| Wise (ACH in, convert out) | $11.54 | 0.58% |
| Wise (SWIFT in) | $17.65 | 0.88% |
| Payoneer (bank-paid client) | $44–$99 | 2.2–5% |
| Stripe (US freelancer, international card) | $90–$110 | 4.5–5.5% |
| PayPal | $176.28 | 8.81% |
| Deel (local bank withdrawal) | $0 + undisclosed FX | — |
| SWIFT wire | Not knowable in advance | — |
The Hidden Cost: FX Spread
The fee is the part you see. The exchange rate is where the rest hides.
The mid-market rate is the midpoint between buy and sell rates on global currency markets — the rate banks use between themselves. A provider quoting you a rate worse than mid-market is charging you a spread, whether or not it also charges a fee.
Here is how to measure it, using real published numbers. Wise’s Brazil page displays both the headline rate and the effective rate, because Brazil legally requires the disclosure — the VET, or Valor Efetivo Total:
` Headline rate shown: 1 USD = 5.1630 BRL Effective rate (VET): 1 USD = 5.089450 BRL
Spread = (5.1630 − 5.089450) ÷ 5.1630 = 1.4245%
Cross-check: the stated fee was $2.85 on $200 = 1.425% ✓ `
The arithmetic closes exactly. That is what an honestly disclosed spread looks like.
The three-step test for any provider:
- Get the mid-market rate at the moment of conversion from a neutral source.
- Work out your effective rate: local currency actually received ÷ source currency actually sent.
- Total cost = (mid − effective) ÷ mid. That single number captures the visible fee and the hidden spread.
Spreads by provider, from their own published material:
| Provider | Spread vs mid-market | Disclosed? |
|---|---|---|
| Wise | 0% spread, explicit fee from 0.23% | Fully |
| Stripe | 1% conversion charge | Yes |
| Payoneer | Built into the 1.2–4% withdrawal band | Partially |
| PayPal | 4.00% primary, 3.00% other | Yes, published |
| Deel | Not disclosed on the withdrawal page | No |
| Banks / SWIFT | Not disclosed | No |
The point most rankings miss: disclosure quality and price are different axes. PayPal is expensive and honest about it. A receiving bank is often more expensive and silent. Ranking rails on visible fee alone pushes readers toward SWIFT, which has the lowest visible fee and frequently the highest real cost.
The US Tax Position Most Articles Get Backwards
If you are not a US person and you perform your work outside the US, this section probably saves you a wasted worry.
The rule that settles it: the IRS states that for a nonresident alien, income from personal services is sourced where the services are performed.
So if you sit in Lahore, Manila, Lagos, Bengaluru or São Paulo and do the work there for a US client, you are earning foreign-source income. Not US-source. The 30% withholding rule for US-source income paid to foreign persons generally never applies in the first place.
That reframes the W-8BEN. Most articles imply you need a tax treaty article to escape 30% withholding. For work performed entirely outside the US, you typically never reach the withholding rule at all. The form’s real job is to give your client documentary support for not withholding and not issuing a 1099.
Two more things worth knowing:
A US client should not send you a 1099-NEC. Nonemployee compensation paid to nonresident aliens is reported on Form 1042-S, not 1099-NEC. If a client issues you a 1099-NEC, that is a signal they have misclassified your status — something concrete you can check and correct.
Two 2026 threshold changes, both confirmed on IRS pages: the minimum threshold for reporting on 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC rose from $600 to $2,000 for tax years beginning after 2025, with inflation adjustment from 2027. And the Form 1099-K threshold reverted to $20,000 and 200 transactions. The second matters to US freelancers taking PayPal and Stripe payouts.
This is general information, not tax advice, and the analysis changes if you perform any services on US soil. IRS Publication 519 is the starting point, and an accountant is better than either of us.
Which Rail for Which Situation
| Situation | Use | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Small frequent invoices, $100–500 | Wise | Percentage-only cost with no punishing fixed fee. PayPal’s $0.49 + 4.99% is brutal at this size |
| Payments under $10 | PayPal micropayments | The only rail with a purpose-built small-amount tier |
| Large occasional invoices, $5,000+ | Wise | Fees are discounted above 25,000 USD |
| Client refuses anything but a bank transfer | Give them Wise local USD details | They send a free domestic ACH; you skip the SWIFT chain entirely. The highest-leverage tip here |
| Client already uses Deel | Deel + local bank or Wise withdrawal | Never take the 2.5% PayPal withdrawal |
| US freelancer billing overseas | Stripe Invoicing | You control the rail; 0.4% capped at $2 |
By corridor
US to India. No INR receiving details exist anywhere. You receive USD into Wise and it converts to INR — Indian-registered Wise accounts cannot hold INR. Wise is an in-principle approved Payment Aggregator – Cross Border with the RBI and emails an eFIRC automatically, which is the compliance document Indian freelancers need. Observed conversion cost 0.58%.
US to Philippines. A rare win: PHP is on Wise’s local receiving list and domestic PHP receiving is free. Observed conversion 0.60%.
US to Pakistan. No PKR receiving details. Wise sends USD to PKR at about 0.84%, but cannot currently send business payments to PKR — personal routing only.
US to Nigeria. No NGN receiving details. Wise sends at about 0.78%. PayPal receiving became possible in January 2026 only via an account linked to the Nigerian fintech Paga, according to Techpoint Africa, which also reports that the underlying restrictive policies remain in place.
US to Brazil. No BRL receiving details, and at about 1.43% this was the most expensive of the five corridors measured. Brazil mandates VET disclosure, which is why the spread arithmetic above is visible there.
EU to UK. The best case here. Both EUR and GBP have local receiving details with free domestic receiving.
Restrictions to check before you commit
- India-registered Wise accounts cannot hold INR.
- Wise cannot send business payments to PKR or COP.
- Wise lists PLN, RON, PHP, MYR and TRY local receiving as restricted — check eligibility rather than assuming.
- Payoneer publishes different fee schedules per territory and account type, by its own admission.
- Stripe requires a registered business in a supported country.
The One Change Worth Making Today
If you are currently invoiced through PayPal and your clients pay from the US, EU or UK, open a Wise account, get local receiving details in the currency your clients pay in, and send those details on your next invoice.
On $60,000 billed a year that is the difference between roughly $5,300 and roughly $350 in fees. It takes an afternoon.
Key Takeaways
- The same $2,000 invoice costs $11.54 through Wise and $176.28 through PayPal. Over $60,000 billed a year that spread is about $5,000.
- Payoneer has no universal fee table. Receiving in your local currency is free, non-local is 1%, and withdrawals with conversion run 1.2% to 4% depending on corridor.
- The annual Payoneer account fee of $29.95 applies only if you receive under $6,000 in any 12 consecutive months.
- A SWIFT wire’s cost is not knowable in advance. The CFPB confirms providers need not disclose intermediary bank deductions beforehand.
- If you work outside the US for a US client, your income is foreign-source, so the 30% withholding rule generally never applies. A 1099-NEC sent to a foreign contractor is a red flag.
- For 2026, the 1099-NEC reporting threshold rose from $600 to $2,000 and the 1099-K threshold reverted to $20,000 and 200 transactions.
- The highest-leverage move: give a bank-transfer-only client your Wise local USD details so they send a free domestic transfer instead of a SWIFT wire.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Wise or Payoneer cheaper for freelancers?
On the arithmetic, Wise. Receiving a $2,000 payment by free US ACH into Wise USD details and converting costs about $11.54, or 0.58 percent. The same amount through Payoneer costs roughly $44 to $99, because you pay 1 percent to receive from a bank-paying client and then 1.2 to 4 percent to withdraw with currency conversion. Payoneer’s advantage is marketplace integration, since many platforms pay directly into it, and receiving in your own local currency is free. Payoneer’s fees also vary by territory and account type by its own admission, so check the figure shown in your account.
Do I need to pay US tax as a foreign freelancer with US clients?
Generally not on the US side, and most articles get this backwards. The IRS sources income from personal services to the place where the services are performed. If you do the work outside the United States, you are earning foreign-source income, so the 30 percent withholding rule for US-source income paid to foreign persons does not apply in the first place. The W-8BEN’s real function is to give your client documentary support for not withholding and not issuing a 1099. This changes if you perform any services on US soil. Not tax advice, and you still owe tax at home.
Why did I receive less than my client sent?
Almost certainly an intermediary bank deduction or an FX spread. A SWIFT wire passes through one to three correspondent banks, each able to take a fee, and the CFPB confirms that while providers must disclose such deductions exist, federal law does not require them to state the amounts in advance. Under the SHA and BEN charge codes the deductions come out of your money in transit. The other cause is the exchange rate: a provider quoting worse than the mid-market rate is charging a spread on top of any visible fee.
How do I check if a provider’s exchange rate is fair?
Compare it to the mid-market rate, which is the midpoint between global buy and sell rates. Take the local currency you actually received and divide by the source currency actually sent to get your effective rate, then calculate the gap as a percentage of mid-market. That single number captures the visible fee and the hidden spread together. Wise’s Brazil page is a useful worked example because Brazilian law requires disclosing the effective total rate, so you can see a headline rate of 5.1630 against an effective rate of 5.089450, a spread of 1.42 percent that matches the stated fee exactly.
Should my US client send a wire transfer or use a payment service?
Neither, ideally. Open a Wise account, get local USD receiving details, and put those on the invoice. Your client then sends a free domestic ACH transfer within the US, which costs them nothing and looks like a normal bank payment to them, while you skip the SWIFT correspondent chain entirely. This is the single highest-leverage change most international freelancers can make, and it works precisely because it removes the part of the journey where costs are undisclosed and unpredictable.